Thailand Celebrates United Through Sports World Virtual Youth Festival 2020

The official opening of the United Through Sports World Virtual Youth Festival 2020 took place in Bangkok as the host of the event in a special gala night hosted by Thailand’s IOC Member, Khunying Patama Leeswadtrakul.
The Youth Festival brought together over 100 organizations in celebration of United Nations World Children’s Day. The 5-day event under patronage of the IOC, IPC, SOI and many others lay under the slogan “One Spirit, One Heart” standing for inclusion, equality and nondiscrimination.
Cities from around the world, Gold Coast, Australia, Ekaterinburg, Russia, Washington DC, United States, Milano Cortina, Abu Dhabi and so many others organized joint events.
The opening speakers came from all organizations: IOC President, Thomas Bach, IPC President, Andrew Parsons, CEO of Special Olympics Mary Davis, the 8th UN General Secretary, Ban Ki-moon and GAISF and SportAccord President, Rafaelle Chiulli.
Khunying Patama, the Chair of the LOC of the Festival, opened the evening with an emotional speech showing her pride for Thailand to host this historical event. She stated that now more than ever, the world must stand in solidarity and unity for and with the Youth of the world. She welcomed all the representatives from the Thai National Olympic Committee, National Paralympic Committee and Thailand’s Special Olympics. She also thanked UTS President, Stephan Fox.
Mr. Fox welcomed all the Youth from around the world and Thailand who contributed to the event and thanked them again for demonstrating what ‘Unity In Diversity’ is all about.
He further thanked the Governor of the Sport Authority of Thailand, Mr. Gongsak Yodmani and the National Sports Development Fund, Surpanee Guptasa for their support to ensure the success of this event.
The Opening Ceremony was followed by the UTS World Conference opened by Thailand’s Minister of Tourism and Sport, Phiphat Ratchakitprakarn, and included many international speakers:
Mohammad Yunus, Nobel Peace Prize Winner
Ban Ki-Moon, 8th UN Secretary General
Princes Albert II Monaco, IOC Member
Andrew Parsons, President, IPC
Francesco Ricci Bitti, President, ASOIF
Mary Davis, CEO, SOI
Oleg Matysin, President, FISU
HRH Prince Feisal Al Hussein, IOC Executive Board Member
Raffaele Chiulli, President SA/GAISF
Chungwon Choue, President, WT/THF
We thank you for all your support and now the center stage belongs to the Youth of the World. Go and live your dreams!